New Ownership Reset

Suggest improvements to existing titans, minion, or create a new one!

Moderator: Development

Sen
New(er) Management
Posts: 9790
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:07 pm
battle.net: Sen - 435
Location: California
Contact:

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by Sen »

There currently is no way to unlearn abilities, not that I have learned.

Levels are a behavior. You can adjust the experience, but you cannot unlearn abilities.
Image
PTB
Predator
Posts: 1874
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:29 am
battle.net: .

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by PTB »

Remember when I made this suggestion a year ago? And it's been on sen's tdl ever since?
Sen
New(er) Management
Posts: 9790
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:07 pm
battle.net: Sen - 435
Location: California
Contact:

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by Sen »

I have investigated it at length (somewhere around 8+ hours); I have tried about 6 different workarounds. None worked.

What pisses me off is that Blizzard has an option to add levels to an ability but not one to remove levels.
Image
Dragoneles
Voltron
Posts: 8072
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:15 am
battle.net: Dragoneles 220
Location: Here. There. Everywhere.

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by Dragoneles »

Dragoneles wrote:To do it, Sen would actually have to kill/remove the first Titan unit, create a second one, and set it's experience to that of the old one.

It is possible, so long as you set an exemption to the Titan death trigger.
[quote="Masterful"]One developer's problem is another mans exploit.[/quote]
[background=#343434]FORUM RULES - read me or get a ban.[/background]
PinkiePie
Dark Prism
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:24 am
battle.net: RainbowDash.498
Location: Under Luna's Wing

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by PinkiePie »

or if the new titan is created before the old one is removed on the actions?
Image
Sen
New(er) Management
Posts: 9790
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:07 pm
battle.net: Sen - 435
Location: California
Contact:

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by Sen »

I mean, I could create a new Titan, set the Titan variable, set experience, remove (not kill) the old Titan, and make sure to copy over items/buffs, and theoretically it would work.
Image
PTB
Predator
Posts: 1874
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:29 am
battle.net: .

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by PTB »

Sounds like a lot. I say we just blow GE up and remake it ourselves.
PinkiePie
Dark Prism
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:24 am
battle.net: RainbowDash.498
Location: Under Luna's Wing

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by PinkiePie »

Sen wrote:buffs


ooooooooooooooh yeah i didn't even think about that o_0

that would be involved
Image
Dragoneles
Voltron
Posts: 8072
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:15 am
battle.net: Dragoneles 220
Location: Here. There. Everywhere.

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by Dragoneles »

Sen wrote:I mean, I could create a new Titan, set the Titan variable, set experience, remove (not kill) the old Titan, and make sure to copy over items/buffs, and theoretically it would work.

Buffs and items are the only real issue there. It may be better to simply store the items in the gold rather than destroying/creating new ones. I don't see what you would do about buff durations however. Perhaps all buffs are removed at the expense of the reset.
[quote="Masterful"]One developer's problem is another mans exploit.[/quote]
[background=#343434]FORUM RULES - read me or get a ban.[/background]
PinkiePie
Dark Prism
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:24 am
battle.net: RainbowDash.498
Location: Under Luna's Wing

Re: New Ownership Reset

Post by PinkiePie »

couldn't buffs just have a stored integer?... like say:

titan buys a damage up

IntegerDamage = int + 15 (and so on down the list)

then when the new titan is created, its created at default level + the integer values?

as for items, couldn't you create like an invisible item bag, tranfer slot 1 from titans container to fake container slot 1, and so on down the list... and back?
Image
Locked